US Election 2016 Updates: Timings for polls closing on election day

Americans are going to select their 45th president through the polling on 8 November, 2016. A contest between Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump. Result would be any – Hillary Clinton or Donald Trump.

electoral-college-votes-by-states

Voting begins at 6 am on the day and the first polls will close at midnight UK time (00:00 GMT; 19:00 EST).

To clinch the white house any of the two candidates need to win 270 of the 538 Electoral College votes.

Here is a list of the timings for polls closing on election day (UK time).

Midnight

Georgia: 16 votes
Indiana: 11 votes
Kentucky: 8 votes
South Carolina: 9 votes
Vermont: 3 votes
Virginia: 13 votes

0:30am

North Carolina: 15 votes
Ohio: 18 votes
West Virginia: 5 votes

1am

Alabama: 9 votes
Connecticut: 7 votes
Delaware: 3 votes
District of Columbia: 3 votes
Florida: 29 votes
Illinois: 20 votes
Maine: 4 votes
Maryland: 10 votes
Massachusetts: 11 votes
Mississippi: 6 votes
Missouri: 10 votes
New Hampshire: 4 votes
New Jersey: 14 votes
Oklahoma: 7 votes
Pennsylvania: 20 votes
Rhode Island: 4 votes
Tennessee: 11 votes

1.30am

Arkansas: 6 votes

2am

Colorado: 9 votes
Kansas: 6 votes
Louisiana: 8 votes
Michigan: 16 votes
Minnesota: 10 votes
Nebraska: 5 votes
New Mexico: 5 votes
New York: 29 votes
North Dakota: 3 votes
South Dakota: 3 votes
Texas: 38 votes
Wisconsin: 10 votes
Wyoming: 3 votes

3am

Iowa: 6 votes
Montana: 3 votes
Nevada: 6 votes
Utah: 6 votes

4am

California: 55 votes
Hawaii: 4 votes
Idaho: 4 votes
Oregon: 7 votes
Washington: 12 votes

6am

Alaska: 3 votes

OR

7pm EST (Midnight GMT) — Polls close in the battleground states of Florida (29) and Virginia (13). As well as Georgia (16), South Carolina (9) and Vermont (3).

7:30pm EST (12:30am Wednesday GMT) — Polls close in two more important states: Ohio (18) and North Carolina (15). They also shut in West Virginia (5), where Mr Trump is heavily favoured.

8pm EST (1am GMT) — Things start to heat up. Polls close in the crucial state of Pennsylvania (20) and in Alabama (9), Connecticut (7), Delaware (3), the District of Columbia (3), Illinois (20), Kansas (6), Maine (4), Maryland (10), Massachusetts (11), Mississippi (6), Missouri (10), New Jersey (14), Oklahoma (7), Rhode Island (4) and Tennessee (11).

9pm EST (2am GMT) — The polls close in Colorado (9), Wisconsin (10) and Texas (38). They also shut in Louisiana (8), Minnesota (10), Nebraska (5), New Mexico (5), New York (29), South Dakota (3) and Wyoming (10).

10pm EST (3am GMT) — Polls are closing in western states Arizona (11), Idaho (4), Montana (3), Nevada (6) and Utah (6) as well as the mid-western farm state of Iowa (6).

11pm EST (4am GMT) — The polls close in the biggest electoral prize on the map — solidly Democratic California (55) — as well as Washington state (12), Oregon (7) and North Dakota (3).

Midnight EST (5am GMT) — Polls close in Alaska (3) and Hawaii (4).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *